The Incontiguous Brick

January 18, 2008

Domestic violence registry? How far will this go?

Filed under: politics,Warnings — iknowkeith @ 2:53 pm

A little while ago I wrote a post about the gun offender registry in Baltimore. I made fun of the idea that there would be other criminal registries coming soon. Turns out I wasn’t as funny as I thought.

Now California is jumping on that train with a domestic violence registry!

Here are some excerpts from the Ledger.

The lawmaker, Assemblywoman Fiona Ma, the San Francisco Democrat who is the majority whip, introduced a bill last week to create an online database of men and women convicted of domestic violence in California.

The database would log the names of domestic violence offenders convicted of a felony or two misdemeanors, dates of birth, locations of convictions and other information. Unlike public registers of sex offenders, the database would not list addresses. It would, however, indicate how to obtain a restraining order.

First of all, I am not an advocate for domestic violence in any way. But how far is this going to go? This will be populated with misdemeanors as well as felony convictions. Do we really give up all of our rights when we are arrested for something?

9 Comments »

  1. Yes, we do give up all rights. Laws are made to be kept. Why have a law if everyone goes around breaking them. The more offenders are made public maybe less people will become victims. Being aware of convictions is a right. I would like to know if the person I am involved with has a past record of domestic violence. It all goes back to love one another. Less domestic violence, hopefully would keep more marriages together.

    Comment by nonoffender — January 18, 2008 @ 6:30 pm | Reply

    • well maybe people should think before they do things like domestic violence!! that includes men and women and if you dont want to do the time then dont do the crime. You loose all rights and privacy when you commit crimes and it serves the person right!! I think a Domestic Violence Registry should be required!!

      Comment by amber — August 4, 2010 @ 2:51 pm | Reply

  2. I think that every state should have a Domestic Violence Registry. I am a victim of Domestic Violence and there are not enough laws or punishments for those that do the crime against another individual. I am a woman, so naturally my focus is on the male that abuses. However, I do know that there a women who abuse as well and this also should not be accepted.

    I live in Michigan and I am 40 years old and have lived through 11 years of Domestic Violence and Domestic Abuse. Sadly enough to say there are just not enough consequences for those that do the act of abusing.

    Domestic Violence is a very well kept secret and the Abuser knows that ultimately he will be protected. There is not enough noise made about Domestic Violence. Nobody wants to talk about the unpleasantness that is associated with Domestic Violence. Our children are not taught the signs to look for so that they do not get involved with a Domestically Violent person. Worse yet, by keeping the Domestic Violence saga such a quiet topic and by covering up the abuse for the abuser we are teaching our children that it is okay to abuse and that you must accept and cover up the abuse. There is too much shame that goes with abuse and this has to stop.

    All states should have a Domestic Violence Registry. If you do the deed – the rest of us should be warned.

    Comment by Shirley Crawford — May 19, 2008 @ 6:24 am | Reply

  3. For 20 years I experienced serious Violent Crimes to me and Domestic Violence so severe that I was hospitalized and stalked by Gang members with a baby in home…..without ONE POLICE OR DA CONVICTiONS OR INVESTIGATIONS TO FEEL SAFE……Today I have seen that a DATA BASE has no meaning unless you have the REAL VIOLATOR BEHIND BARS……Anyone can end up in jail with a False Police report harassment and yet should THEIR name be in this DATA BASE if they are violated of Violent Crime first by the same person or others? A DATA BASE can create GREAT HARM AND DAMAGES unless one personally knows that EACH name is a proven REAL VIOLATOR of Domestic proven Violent Crimes. Otherwise this DATA BASE WILL HAVE TO BE AMENDED TO NOT ALLOW FRAUD.

    Comment by Advocate for DV — January 14, 2009 @ 11:03 pm | Reply

  4. UVPUrA comment5 ,

    Comment by andry — May 7, 2009 @ 11:28 am | Reply

  5. Today someone I had to file a restraining order against due to stalking, harrassment, etc….emailed me to beg me to recant my story and agree to actions that would take him off the domestic violence registry. After what my life turned into because of this man I dont know what to do. Two and a half years after the fact he wants to coach soccer and get a new job….so he says….but after the nightmare he put me through…how do I know he wont show up at my wedding in two weeks? How do I know this is not another scam to get me to put down my defenses? Do I put another Restraining order through? knowing it will most likely take weeks….anger him more….ruin his life more if he is in fact as innocently motivated as he claims to be? Instinct says yes….but part of me says…well…what if he has worked out his problems? Then I think…I didnt cause this I did nothing to deserve it….its not my problem, I have to protect myself. What is the answer? I dont want to feel vulnerable anymore….but the truth is…my world came crashing down around me again as soon as I saw his name in my inbox. THAT IS VULNERABILITY. I want my freedom back. truth is, I probably never will get it back.

    Comment by A Victim — July 29, 2009 @ 7:19 pm | Reply

    • The issue with this is that by taking him off the registry could stop a future victim from avoiding him.

      Comment by Steve — October 17, 2010 @ 7:14 am | Reply

  6. In it’s current state the registry would not effect me, but I have serious issues with this… When I was going through a divorce I was accused of domestic violence, Without any evidence she had me thrown in jail and got sole custody of our daughter. Eventually (after a year and a half of court battles $15000) with witnesses and appeals and getting the transcripts and having them professionally transcribed ($1000 a pop) I was able to prove that she was lying so the domestic violence case was dismissed. Before the case was dismissed I had to pay over $10000 dollars for a temporary custody hearing, in that I was still appealing the domestic violence charge and lost custody of my daughter but was able to secure every other weekend and every Monday and Wednesday although I am no longer her father by law and am still considered a visitor, and because of my background being absolutely clean and was able to secure unsupervised visits. I dont want to even talk about the divorce and what it cost but there once again another reeming. Many men do not have this kind of money, and plead no contest off the bat. 1 Million men a year are thrown in jail on false claims of domestic violence. Social services and child protective services are stretched so thin because anyone can claim domestic violence.

    A few years ago a women in Arizona had a restraining order put on David Letterman, she lived 2000 miles away and admitted she never actually met him. A judge put the restraining order on Dave Letterman because the woman explained that he had been on her TV for the last 11 years and sent her secret messages through the TV forcing her to spend all of her money and this was mental abuse. The judge agreed and the restraining order was issued. It is getting to the point where the “protection” is hurting more people then it is helping. I would be for a registry if the laws revolving around domestic violence were fair, and they are highly stacked against men.

    Here are what some of the laws state, how judges should handle domestic violence cases now…

    The accuser is given 51% of the weight as evidence as the truth (remember the scales of justice are blind, this tips the scales, and removes the blindfold) so given that fact there is also no way for a man to defend himself in court. Now they do this by charging you in either district court, or civil court (this is how they dodge the constitution). They will not allow any taping or transcripts in district court, and the conviction rate is nearly 100% against men and the conviction rate for women accused of domestic violence is around 4-7%.

    Now given all those statements, I see and hear many sad stories about women who are in fact victims of domestic violence and I also see and hear many sad stories of the falsely accused. No one will ever have their freedom, until we can come up with a system that doesn’t hurt everyone no matter what…

    People should have to at least show a bruise or a mark or something that looks like they were hit before they throw people in jail ot have a witness that says you did it. Something real…A threatening email or message, not just words coming out of one person’s mouth… that’s just to much.

    Comment by john — November 21, 2009 @ 11:25 am | Reply

  7. Domestic violence obviously exists and is a serious problem where it does exist. A registry in itself is not bad. HOWEVER, while I don’t dispute others’ accounts of their own experiences, the current procedures of police and courts is extremely dangerous for those falsely accused of domestic violence. This situation is a national disgrace that rivals the crime of domestic violence itself.

    Comment by km — November 18, 2010 @ 5:33 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

