The Incontiguous Brick

August 3, 2007

I believe everything I read…

Filed under: Humor,Life,Ramblings — iknowkeith @ 1:44 pm

I believe everything I read… in my own blog.

stack-of-books.jpgYesterday, A friend told me that I might be in danger of believing everything I read in my own blog. Although he was picking on me, I think there may be some truth to this. When I write, even when being sarcastic, there is always a part of me that comes through. I suppose this is true with every writer but it is the first time I have heard it said as an accusation. Even when I am trying to be funny I am writing with the belief that my readers will see the humor as well.

This explains why it hurts (at least a little) when people don’t like something I write. It is not because they critique my writing style or my use of prose. Not even because they just didn’t find it funny. It hurts because at some small level people who don’t like the things I write don’t like what I believe.

This can be a difficult thing to accept. Our understanding of the world is founded on what we believe to be true. When someone else challenges our beliefs it is as if they are questioning our grip on reality and the very nature of how our world works. In my world, I write some pretty funny things (at least sometimes) or I provide an important perspective on something. If you don’t agree, then I am forced to ask either: 1. What is wrong with me? or 2. What is wrong with you? Obviously, the only conclusion I will come up with is that there must be something wrong with you.

So, the answer is yes. I do believe everything I read in my own blog! Because if I don’t, my grip on reality and my understanding of the world becomes more tenuous than I can bare.

And if you don’t agree… you’re wrong.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

