The Incontiguous Brick

May 4, 2007

Donating Blood: Part Two.

Filed under: Life,Ramblings — iknowkeith @ 1:48 pm

a few days ago I told the world my story about going to give blood. I had not done it yet, but I was very excited to save a life during the local bloodbank “crisis”.

Here is the rest of the story:

I went to the blood bank and filled out the paperwork. At this point, I am told that I am in an indefinite deferment status until a test for Mad Cow disease is developed. Because I spent a portion of the 80s in Germany, I am at risk for Mad Cow and therefore cannot be a blood donor. My O- “magic blood” is about as useful as soy milk to a new born. My dreams of helping that random stranger were crushed. I didn’t even get a cookie.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

