The Incontiguous Brick

May 1, 2007

Why we can’t stop global warming

Filed under: Environment,Our World — iknowkeith @ 8:54 pm


A few months ago I sat down and watched Al Gore’s infamous movie. Finally, I began to listen to the message that so many scientists have been talking about. I began to seriously follow the news about the environment and global warming. I have to admit, I am a convert. Now I believe that we (humans, especially Americans) are the cause of global warming. I agree that one day this is going to be very, very bad. I just read today that the polar ice is melting faster than the scientific models predict. It doesn’t get much more desperate than this.

So how has this changed my life? Ummm. Not much.

I try to turn off the lights when I am not in the room, but I often don’t bother if it isn’t convenient. I still drive my car. Even to the store that is one mile away. I think it would be great if other people used less energy, but I don’t want to live less comfortably.

Am I embarrassed? Yes. Will I change? Probably not.

Unfortunately, I don’t think I am alone. Right now, 46 million Americans are smokers. I am sure that they all know that is will (or at least could) kill them one day. I doubt they are all suicidal. I think it is the same thing with the environment.

We will not stop global warming as long as we want someone else to do it.

1 Comment »

  1. Heh. James and I giggle as we drive our SUV to the dump to do our recycling. We definitely recycle a ton more as a result of Al Gore’s movie. We even bought our own plastic containers so we can go to the dump ourselves. Every 2 weeks does not cut it for us. And we are slowly converting all of our light bulbs over. But that just counteracts the energy I use in my hot tub everyday, hunh?

    Comment by iampoem — May 1, 2007 @ 8:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

